Wondering the software engineer career pathway

16 Apr 2022 » career

Where to go? Image by mohamed Hassan from Pixabay Image by mohamed Hassan from Pixabay

I have several times wondered where I will end up as a software engineer, until I found Skills Framework. Thanks for the Skills Framework, I have a better idea of my career path down the roads. Hope the below guides help you too.

The sector information

Firstly, finding your own sector. There are vast sectors listed in the Skills Framework website, I will choose ICT for my case. I am also interested in the Financial Sector, as I have worked in a financial institute before.

The sector information gives me a better idea of how Singapore defines the ICT. It’s good to read if you have time, it does provide statistics of the workforce in Singapore.

The career pathways

Quickly skim through and I stopped at the career pathways. It is a very huge map which my screen cannot fit in. What I did is to find my subdivision and narrow down my search. Among all the subdivisions (Data and Artificial Intelligence, Infrastructure, Software Application, Strategy and Governance, Operation and Support, Cybersecurity, Sales Marketing), I will lock down to just the software and application.

Possible career pathways of a software engineer

I started my career as a software engineer, there are several possible paths I can move on to which have higher rank such as Software Architect and Software Engineering Manager. Or if I am bored with software development, DevOps Engineer and Embedded Systems Engineer are nice too.


Career pathway Source: Skills Framework

However there aren’t many options after Software Architect, Software Engineering Manager, Embedded Systems Engineering manager, and Lead UI Designer. They are progressing to the same role which is Head of Software Engineering and later Chief Information Officer and Chief Technology Officer.

More …

The Skills Framework provides more details of each role for example the key functions of a Software Architect, the hard skills and soft skills the role should possess to carry out their functions, and the programmes one can sign up for to up-skill himself.

Resources:

  1. The Skills Framework Singapore